20
Sep
11

The “Self”

I am asked to be myself
A “self” that attracts you
And evokes your love
A “self” that entices you

I know not of this “self”
The one you speak of
I know not of this “self”
the “self” that once was

What am I now?
Can you tell me?
Is it the same?
Perhaps no one can

We may try to recall
What this “self” was
We may attempt to
But fail miserably

Let me explain
What I am now
Let me explain
so you may see

I am an empty vessel
A selfless creature
With you I am not shallow
For you are my other “self”

Without you I wander
Aimlessly and empty
Without you I wander
with no purpose at all

This is the “self”
That you speak of
This is the “self”
That there is now

What I once was
I may once more be
What you make of it
I long to see

25 Responses to “The “Self””


  1. 2 Arifa Shakeel
    September 21, 2011 at 4:39 am

    good job πŸ™‚

  2. 4 Hasan Rabbani
    September 21, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Very true !

  3. 5 Hasan Rabbani
    September 21, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    very touching !

  4. 6 Well-wisher
    September 22, 2011 at 11:31 am

    “And be not like those who forgot Allah and He caused them to forget their own “selves”, Those are the Fasiqun (rebellious).” (Surah Al-Hashr verse 18)

  5. September 22, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    that truely touches heart!good job

  6. 10 Usman Elahi
    September 23, 2011 at 12:50 am

    Brilliant Work Younas , Keep doing

  7. 11 Salman Arif
    September 23, 2011 at 5:38 am

    For I am mooooojo jojo! and there is no other mooojooo jojo but me. And there can be only one mooooojo jojo.. The only one is me, the real, the authentic, mooooojo jojo!

    haha Sorry mate. I just couldnt help myself. Its really touching. I like it a lot. But cheer up man. put some igo in ur verses.

  8. 13 Salman Arif
    September 23, 2011 at 5:38 am

    Sorry.. Ego!

  9. 15 AbidUsman
    September 23, 2011 at 7:04 am

    I am asked to be myself,
    A self that ensnare your fancy
    Deep down is a false agency
    Amazes only rotten romancers
    The crime of passion by default

  10. 18 sana
    September 23, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    wow! very well written ..good job:) keep writing!

  11. 20 rehma
    September 24, 2011 at 10:50 am

    balanced poem…. good job

    • September 29, 2011 at 4:12 pm

      Hi, you’re funny… Not! πŸ˜›

      On a serious note, I would appreciate constructive criticism. By all means tell me if my attempts at poetry are a complete fail but do tell me why. Otherwise, you aren’t helping.

  12. September 30, 2011 at 12:38 am

    Awesome work younas. this one is a lot better then the first one you wrote.
    very touching.
    Thumbsup man. i love this one


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,596 other followers


